Call Spice - 0121 353 6161

Site search

Canals Discovery Evening and Buffet at Titford Pumphouse

.. unlock the secrets of our industrial past

Thu 23 Mar 2017
Titford Pump House, Engine Street, Oldbury, West Midlands B69 4NL
7.15pm for 7.30pm start
7 Member, 9 Guest
a buffet supper
Please donate to a collection on the night (suggested minimum 5)
Filling Fast

If you enjoy unlocking the secrets of our industrial past, you will love this opportunity to spend an exclusive Spice evening as guests of Birmingham Canal Navigation Society and learn some of the incredible engineering that went into providing our inland waterways.

Our evening is at Titford Pumphouse, which, at 512ft above sea level is at the highest point of our local canal network and so had the vital job of defying gravity by keeping the levels topped up. We will discover the Pumphouse itself and the canalside features outside as well as enjoying a talk, music and buffet supper together.

The evening will start with tea or coffee followed by a talk with musical accompaniment by Phil Clayton who is a well experienced, musically talented and knowledgeable speaker. He will explain how canals work, how and why they were built and share lots of interesting facts about the waterways. After a question and answer session, we'll enjoy a buffet supper together and if weather permits we will be shown the canal and locks outside. Phil will round off our evening with more photos, talk and questions.

Parking is limited in the compound however you can park out on Engine Street which is a cul de sac and very quiet in the evening as the local businesses are closed.

Chinese Meal and Quiz - Sutton Coldfield (Thu 23rd Feb 2017)
Ultimate Entertainment Quiz and Trivia Evening with Supper (Sat 25th Feb 2017)
Curry and Quiz - Harborne (Wed 1st Mar 2017)
Wild About Sutton Park Evening and Buffet (Thu 9th Mar 2017)
Crime and Punishment Evening with Supper (Fri 3rd Mar 2017)
Urban Ramble: Dudley Canals, Netherton Tunnel and Lock Open Day (Sat 11th Mar 2017)
Hagley Hall Tour + Tea with Viscount Cobham (Sun 12th Mar 2017)
The Thrill of Love (Tue 14th Mar 2017)
Otter Talk and Guided Walk - Slimbridge (Sat 8th Apr 2017)
Guided Tour of The Lord Leycester Hospital (Sun 12th Mar 2017)
Ten Pin Bowling (Acocks Green Bowl) (Mon 13th Mar 2017)
Jewels of the Gambia Evening with a Wildlife Photographer (Wed 15th Mar 2017)
Proof House Private Tour (Mon 20th Mar 2017)
Feet, Footwear and Wellbeing (Tue 21st Mar 2017)
Race Night with Supper (Wed 29th Mar 2017)

Browse similar events by category / subcategory

Social Pursuits
Great for New Members
Top Event for Member Feedback

Updated Friday 17th February 2017, 17:30

Book-It Online 5.0a8 Software

Book-It uses cookies. Click here to find out more.