Call Spice - 0121 353 6161

Site search

Victorian Birmingham Walk and Afternoon Tea

.. step back to the golden age of Birmingham

Wed 27 Dec 2017
Snow Hill Station (ends Hotel Du Vin) B3 2BJ
12.45pm Meet (afternoon tea at 3pm)
29 Member, 32 Guest
Blue Badge Tour Guide & Sumptuous afternoon tea at Hotel Du Vin. Spice Coordinator
Last Few Places

What better way to enjoy the "twixtmas period" than a wonderful historic experience of Victorian Birmingham with Ian Jelf followed by an Afternoon Tea in the Victorian splendour of a historic hotel. We end the walk at approx 3.00pm in the lap of luxury at Hotel Du Vin, itself a particularly grand Victorian building adorned with terracotta (Ian will tell more!). Our traditional afternoon tea includes a pot of tea of your choosing, a selection of mini sandwiches and savouries, a fruit or plain scone with strawberry preserve and a dollop of fresh clotted cream and mini sweet treats.

If any city in the world can be described as a Victorian creation, it's Birmingham. When Queen Victoria came to the throne in 1837 there were about 150,000 Brummies. By the time she died in 1901 there were more than three times that number. The Victorian era is everywhere: fine old buildings, wide new streets, the railways, hotels, shops, offices and much, much more. So following on from our Art Deco and Terracotta walks with Ian, today we're going to look at what the 19th century gave to Birmingham. As well as lots of familiar sites with new stories, we're sure there'll be a few surprises, too.

 

Meet Outside the entrance to Snow Hill Station on Colmore Row (opposite entrance to Great Western Arcade) and end of course at Hotel Du Vin, nearby.

 

 

Ian Jelf Walks

Ian is a legend within Spice. He's a Blue Badge Guide who is really entertaining. His tours are very different from what you might expect from a "normal tour guide!", with lots of offbeat observations and crazy stories that he has researched meticulously for us! You will be amazed at the stories he can tell of towns and cities that you never realised were interesting before! Allow a couple of hours - more if you get him talking about busses, phone boxes or 2CV's ..

 

 

 

 

Show Me A Map

A Christmas Carol (Sat 30th Dec 2017)
Spice East Midlands New Year Masquerade Ball 2017 (Sun 31st Dec 2017 - Mon 1st Jan 2018)
Quiz of The Year and Supper (Thu 11th Jan 2018)
Escape Room Challenge - NEW GAME (Sun 14th Jan 2018)
Spice National Weekend - Denstone, Staffordshire (Fri 10th Aug 2018 - Sun 12th Aug 2018)
Shustoke Boxing Day Easy Ramble (Tue 26th Dec 2017)
New Year 007 and Firework Spectacular Sleepover Party (Sun 31st Dec 2017 - Mon 1st Jan 2018)
Cannes by Eurostar French Riviera Break (Fri 6th Apr 2018 - Mon 9th Apr 2018)
Belfast Social Weekend (Fri 4th May 2018 - Mon 7th May 2018)
Lichfield Cathedral Illuminated (Sat 23rd Dec 2017)
Knowle Locks Christmas Eve Easy Ramble + Lunch (Sun 24th Dec 2017)
Christmas Clay Pigeon Shooting (Thu 28th Dec 2017)
Isle of Wight Twixmas and New Years Break (Thu 28th Dec 2017 - Mon 1st Jan 2018)
Mulled Wine and Mince Pie Wander (Thu 28th Dec 2017)
TV Drama, Movies, Props/SFX Experience (Thu 28th Dec 2017)

Browse similar events by category / subcategory

Ian Jelfs England
Great for New Members

Updated Friday 15th December 2017, 18:01

Book-It Online 5.0a8 Software

Book-It uses cookies. Click here to find out more.